Posted in Quilt

Time-and-Space Thursday

 

I think it is pretty much a given that if you quilt and are a geek (or related to a geek), you will at some point in your quilting career make a Tardis quilt. And really, why wouldn’t you; it’s just a bunch of rectangles. It will certainly be one of the easier pieced quilts you’ll ever do.

tardisessm

The Tardis has changed subtly over the years, so there is some flexibility in the relative dimensions (yes, pun intended). For my quilt I have decided on a twin-sized quilt based on the 9th Doctor’s Tardis. I wanted the tardis portion of the quilt to more or less fill up the entirety of the mattress without spilling over, and then have borders around it that would provide the drape. A standard twin sized mattress is 39” wide by 79” long, or a ratio of 1.948:1 (length: width). The 2005 Tardis has a ratio of 1.981:1 (as opposed to the 1969 Tardis which is 2.1573:1 or the 11th Doctor’s Tardis which is 2.069:1. There are of course other Tardises, but those were my 3 favorite from an exterior-design perspective), making it pretty much the perfect size for my envisioned quilt.

Now the real Tardis is more or less one color (accounting for the fact that is painted wood so there will be slight variations), but due to the lighting and whatnot, it usually appears as though there are 2 or more similar shades of blue going on. I decided, for simplicity’s sake, to go with 2. This provides me with some contrast between the door panels without being much extra work.

So basic design philosophy over with, here’s how this is actually going to look (I hope):

tardis_quilt_topper_idea

I’m toying with the idea of doing a 4th doctor scarf style border but I’m not sure I’m quite that insane. It would look cool.

The above design consists of the following pieces:

  • blue 1:
    • (4x) 53 ”x 2.5” (the long strips)
    • (10x) 9.5” x 2.5” (the bits in between the door panels)
  • Blue 2:
    • (5x) 9.5” x 10.5” (the door panels)
    • (1x) 35.5” x 4” (the bottom bit)
    • (1x) 28.5” x 3” (the top mantle)
    • (1x) 27” x 3” (the bit above the top mantle)
    • (2x) 57.5” x 3” (the side posts)
    • (1x) 53” x 1”  (the strip in between the doors)
    • (1x) 3.5” x 2” (the top of the light)
  • Black:
    • (1x) 29” x 5” (the mantle)
    • (2x) 9” x 0.75” (horizontal window cross-bars)
    • (8x) 5” x 0.75” (vertical window cross-bars)
  • White:
    • (12x) 3.5” x 5.5” (the window panes)
    • (1x) 3.5” x 5.5” (the light on top)
    • Extra for the letters over the door
  • Printable fabric:
    • (1x) 9.5” x 10.5” (sign on the door). Since this is bigger than the printable fabric I’ve been able to find so far, I’ll probably have to add a border of the white fabric to make it big enough.
  • Background fabric: (something spacey probably).
    • (2x) 90.5” x 20” **
    • (1x) 35” x 14.5” **
    • (2x) 57.5″ x 1.75″
    • (2x) 3″ x 4″
    • (2x) 3″ x  3.5″
    • (2x) 10.5″ x 16″ **
    • (1x) 4.5″ x 3.5″ **
    • [** = These are approximate measurements. It will depend on how big I want the final quilt to be (aka how much drape do I want)]

The long pieces can be pieced together so you don’t have to waste fabric (not that quilting fabric is ever wasted. It’ll end up in a quilt…eventually). In my case, I’m combining this project with another Tardis-themed project (which I’ll talk more about tomorrow) so I’ll have at least one set of long strips that aren’t pieced. There’s nothing really wrong with piecing the long strips, but I prefer not to if economically feasible.

So far I have blue 1, black, and white (other than the letters) cut. I still need to cut blue 2 and print out the sign on the door and then I’ll start piecing. I will also, at some point, need to decide on a background fabric.

Leave a Reply

